It is a custom for me to go back to books I have read from time to time in order to immerse myself in the lessons, emotions, or whatever it is I would pick up from the book. Recently, I have discovered the ease of listening to audiobooks, and as expected, Mitch Albom was on top of my list. For the nth time, I am reading (most appropriately, listening) to Tuesdays with Morrie. For some strange reasons, I thought about you.

I met you in 2013, when Multiple Sclerosis was beyond our understanding. I was about to go on my long motherhood leave and you just joined our team, and I would say we were not exactly friends but more of professional acquaintances. I came back the following year and next I know, you are sick and diagnosed with a disease I could not believe would hit someone I know, someone my age.

If it were a different person, you would have faltered. But you didn’t. Instead you stood strong and kept yourself footed, holding on to a kind of faith that is bigger than mine. And it moved me. The need to connect brought us closer, and here we are years after, still in touch despite the distance.

All that feels brought about by the book made way for this, a post exclusively for you, in case circumstances go completely haywire and we come to a point that you could not remember me anymore.

Camille, I want to thank you for coming in my life at the time when I needed it. You showed me how big a faith can make of a person and how precious our time is – with friends, with family, with people we care about. You allowed me to look at life differently and appreciate the things and people I have, to make the most out of each day, and be happy with simple things. Your gift of friendship made me see things in a different point of view, and the simplicity made me at peace with things in my life.

We do not always talk like we used to each morning a year ago. We haven’t been able to have the video calls we have been planning. But know that I treasure the friendship more than you know.

I hope one day, we see each other again. Hold on, dear friend. You do not know how much people are inspired and touched by you and your formidable strength and your massive faith. For now, know that I am thankful that I have found you, and that I love you.

 

Love always,
Cha

Comments
  1. My dear friend,
    You astounded me today, don’t know what to speak. Now I am applying home based and always at the point almost getting it.

    But God has a purpose. Like Peter I must go back and must never turn back. I always come to the point hating the silence. Yes, being unemployed opened me to a brighter view of my health but a dark view being eaten by loneliness and the feeling alone.

    God loves me so much and keep blessing me with His love through friends like you.

    I miss you so much and tears can’t help not to fall every time I remember colleagues at GSC turned to be friends specially you. I always remember you’re carrying my mug and hugging me.

    If God is willing we’ll surely meet again.

    I love you my friend.
    God bless you and your love ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

